Eerie

via Daily Prompt: Eerie

I’m a conventee (went to a convent school),
of course a proud one, way too proud.
What I’m going to tell you –
there’s a sound possibility that you’ve
already heard about that tale.
There is this rumor about
most of the Indian schools,
especially the convents
that their SCHOOL IS BUILT OVER A GRAVEYARD,
AND THAT THE PHANTOMS AND WICKED SPIRITS
TAKE CHARGE OF THE SCHOOL,
EVERY NIGHT,


including the church in the backyard.
As a kid, when seniors narrated horrifying
-horribly self constructed stories,
it always gave me an eerie feeling.  
Eerie enough to make me sweat. 
At a point, I even felt scared entering into the
beautiful church we had.
Not to brag but I turned smart quite early.
Witty, too.
And realized that it is all a sham.
Another thing that I realized was-
that it’s real fun telling such stories to others.
To amuse them, To fright them (a li’l).
I became a senior, too but never felt like
daunting those beautiful innocent faces
’cause I didn’t expect them to be as smart as me. (witty again)
I have always been a ‘sensitive towards the young ones’
but never was a ‘sensitive towards the ones of my age’.
I wanted to spread that eerie feeling
in my batch
more than that
I wanted to check their intellect.
I did it with my friends from other schools.
That is when I realized that Carmel Girls
(was in ALL GIRLs school, yes, you can feel sad for me)
were far more brainy than them.
It was so easy to petrify them.
But more than that I felt happy about something else,
weirdly, I sensed proud in spreading that eerie, back then.
Now I’m 20, an adult,
and I still don’t understand
what was the pride for?
Waiting for the question mark to fade some day.

Considering me inconsiderate for petrifying ’em?
C’mon, I went through the same
when i was a kid.
Feel pity for me rather. (witty again)

P.S. I told them the truth after some time. Always a sensitive.

Carmel, my Alma Mater. 💞

180063_179218392115267_5586276_n
The building in which I spent last two years of school.

26379_111672135536560_3639909_n

155804_162971253739981_3390172_n
This beautiful Church.

-Ananya, the verbal seduction.💓


